Meet the 2017 Iowa Character Award recipients



The Ray Center annually recognizes Iowans who show the Six Pillars of CHARACTER COUNTS!: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and good citizenship. Since 2005, we have recognized more than 100 Iowans for showing good character. Click here to learn more about this year's recipients!

Congratulations to the 2017 Iowa Character Award recipients:

Aaron Eilerts Community Service Award Jackson Fink (Des Moines)

Citizen of Character

Jack Eherenman (Waterloo)
Jeevanjot "JJ" Kapur (West Des Moines)

Honorable Mentions: Anna Curiel (Albia), Dayna Dunnwald (West Des Moines), Anthony Howland (Davenport), Mary Baumhover (Carroll)

Business/Organization of Character

Dress for Success Des Moines

Honorable Mention: Drew's Crew (Waukee), Animal Lifeline of Iowa (Carlisle), Youth Justice Initiative (West Des Moines)

Character Champion Dr. Bill Watson (Urbandale)

Community of Character Urbandale

Educator of Character Dwight Beyer (Lynnville)

Honorable Mention: Kevin Brasser (Paullina), Todd Pettit (Urbandale)

Partner of the Year
Register Media (Des Moines)

Pursuing Victory with Honor Granny Basketball (Lansing)

School of Character North Ridge Elementary (Grimes)

Student Team/Organization of Character
Stick-to-It 4-H Club (Sigourney)

Honorable Mention: Nevada High School FFA (Nevada)

Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award Joy C. Corning